The Evo-Stik League South
BigFreeBet.com

Aylesbury United News

Classy Brackley Too Good For Ducks

Tuesday 22 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | One comment |

Brackley Town 5-2 Ducks A reshuffled United team were comprehensively beaten by a very strong looking Brackley side this evening.

The big talking point at the start of the game was the return of Stuart Maynard on trial, as he lined up in an experimental looking team featuring Kevin Mealor up front.

This was a meeting of two attack-minded teams who both like to get the ball down and play. Brackley's class was evident from the start though, and United did well to give them a game in the first half, although they conceded late on to a Farley header.

The second period wasn't pretty from Aylesbury's point of view, as the home side broke through time and time again with their slick football.

Ben Mackey scored twice (just as he did for previous side Leamington against the Ducks last season) to make it 3-0, and it was then four after the ball was turned in.

In the last ten minutes Nathan Graham scored two consolation goals - first following up to score after Mealor's shot was saved, then rounding the substitute keeper and rolling home after being put clean through.

His goals came either side of Mackey completing his hat-trick to leave a final score of 5-2, seven goals proving tremendous value for money for a pre-season friendly.

Aylesbury line-up (3-5-2): Jack Sillitoe, Stuart Cattell, Ross Taylor, Nick Leach, Adam Rhodes, Sam Swonnell, Mark Jones, Ben Stevens, Kevin Mealor, Nathan Graham, Stuart Maynard

Subs (all used): Carl Kavanagh, Jason Castello, Chris Aslett

 

Changes to Pre-Season Schedule

Monday 21 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | Three comments |

A couple of changes to Aylesbury's pre-season schedule have been made.

The friendlies at North Leigh and Windsor & Eton have both been cancelled.

Two additional friendlies have been pencilled in: away at Burnham on Tuesday 5th August at 7.30pm and away at Hitchin Town on Saturday 9th August, kick-off 3pm.

 

Late Swonnell Strike Brings Deserved Draw

Saturday 19 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | One comment |

Banbury United 1-1 Ducks A draw at the Spencer Stadium was just reward for the battling Ducks.

In a hotly contested game, the home side took control when Jody McKay headed in a corner halfway through the first half.

The game was fairly even throughout, both sides creating chances, but United had to wait until six minutes from time when Sam Swonnell slid home Mark Jones' law ball across the six yard box to round off a good move.

Banbury had a great chance to win it, but hit the post after Aylesbury's stand-in keeper (Vincent and Sillitoe both unavailable) was outjumped at a free-kick but the ball was guided out off a post.

With United's stopper laid out on the pitch, apparently suffering concussion, the match was brought to a slightly premature close.

Aylesbury line-up (3-5-2): Temporary goalkeeper, Ross Taylor, Stuart Cattell, Carl Kavanagh, Kevin Mealor, Mark Jones, Sam Swonnell, Adam Rhodes, Ben Stevens, Craig Henney, Andy Shed

Subs (all used): Nick Leach, Steve Miles, Nathan Graham, Justin Gordon, Chris Aslett.

 

Pre-Season Underway With a Win

Tuesday 15 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | One comment |

Aston Clinton 1-2 Ducks Aylesbury got their pre-season schedule underway with a win at Aston Clinton.

United just about shaded a close first half, and went into the break two goals up.

First Craig Henney ran through onto Kieran Schmidt's through ball to comfortably finish, then the best move of the game saw Stevens pass to Henney who squared for Shed to rifle home.

After the break the introduction of an array of substitutes disrupted proceedings, Aylesbury unable to find the same rhythm of the first half - and the home side pulled a goal back with a heavily deflected shot.

A good workout for Tony Thompson's men to start their campaign with, with a handful of new faces all getting a run out.

Aylesbury line-up (3-5-2): Tom Vincent, Ross Taylor, Stuart Cattell, Carl Kavanagh, Kevin Mealor, Mark Jones, Ben Stevens, Sam Swonnell, Kieran Schmidt, Craig Henney, Andy Shed.

Subs (all used): Steve Miles, Jason Castello, Justin Gordon, Chris Aslett, Nathan Graham, Adam Rhodes, Mark Swierczynski, Imran Khan.

 

Leamington to Open Ducks Campaign

Tuesday 15 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to First Team, Club News | No comments |

Aylesbury United have been pitted against Leamington in the opening day fixture in the Division One Midlands, after the fixtures were released today.

United will take on their landlords and rivals Chesham on both the August Bank Holiday, and the traditional festive derby - on the 27th December.

However, more puzzling is the selection of Rothwell Town as Aylesbury's other Bank Holiday 'derby' opponents - on New Years Day and at Easter.

The full fixture list is shown below, and will shortly be added to the website fixtures page.

H Leamington Sat 16 August 2008

A AFC Sudbury Tue 19 August 2008

A Bedworth United Sat 23 August 2008

H Chesham United Mon 25 August 2008

A Romulus Sat 06 September 2008

H Stourport Swifts Sat 20 September 2008

A Nuneaton Town Sat 27 September 2008

H Bury Town Sat 11 October 2008

A Soham Town Rangers Tue 14 October 2008

H Malvern Town Sat 25 October 2008

A Bromsgrove Rovers Sat 01 November 2008

H Dunstable Town Mon 03 November 2008

A Sutton Coldfield Town Sat 08 November 2008

H Marlow Mon 10 November 2008

H Woodford United Sat 15 November 2008

A Arlesey Town Sat 22 November 2008

H Chasetown Sat 29 November 2008

A Barton Rovers Sat 06 December 2008

H Atherstone Town Sat 13 December 2008

A Leighton Town Sat 20 December 2008

A Chesham United Sat 27 December 2008

H Rothwell Town Thu 01 January 2009

A Leamington Sat 03 January 2009

H Bedworth United Sat 10 January 2009

A Stourport Swifts Sat 17 January 2009

H AFC Sudbury Mon 19 January 2009

H Soham Town Rangers Sat 24 January 2009

A Malvern Town Sat 31 January 2009

H Bromsgrove Rovers Sat 07 February 2009

A Dunstable Town Sat 14 February 2009

H Nuneaton Town Sat 21 February 2009

A Bury Town Sat 28 February 2009

H Sutton Coldfield Town Sat 07 March 2009

A Marlow Tue 10 March 2009

A Woodford United Sat 14 March 2009

H Arlesey Town Sat 21 March 2009

A Chasetown Sat 28 March 2009

H Barton Rovers Sat 04 April 2009

H Romulus Sat 11 April 2009

A Rothwell Town Mon 13 April 2009

H Leighton Town Sat 18 April 2009

A Atherstone Town Sat 25 April 2009

 

Faulkner Joins Basingstoke

Monday 14 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | 70 comments |

James Faulkner has moved to Basingstoke Town, and scored the second of their goals in a 5-2 defeat against Southampton at the weekend.

The powerful striker signed for the Ducks last season from Oxford City, and went on to score 15 goals in just 25 games.

Formerly with Wycombe as a youngster, his move to the Camrose Stadium is a jump in level to the Conference South.

We wish James all the best for the future.

 

Loz Jones in Aylesbury This Weekend

Tuesday 08 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to Club News, First Team | One comment |

AUFC fans have an opportunity to hear Loz Jones singing 'Bring The Ducks Home' again live in Aylesbury this Saturday, so why not come along and join in the fun?

The Weekender Event is being held at The Kings Head Courtyard in the Market Square Aylesbury, and will feature a packed evening session..

Saturday 12th July 8-11:30pm....the session kicks off with John Zealey with Ian Moore, followed by The Scene, The Trawlers and closing with Loz Jones.

Hope to see you all there.

 

Ladies Looking for Players

Monday 07 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to First Team, Club News | No comments |

Aylesbury United Ladies are back in training from Thursday 10th July and are looking for new players and a physio for the upcoming season. The club are hoping to run two teams again next season and are currently recruiting to make up numbers to do this.

Sessions will be from 7.30 to 9.30pm at Meadowcroft pitches and all newcomers are very welcome.

For further information please call Andy on 07840 441855 or Bethan on 07799 633543.

 

Reserve Team News

Wednesday 02 July 2008 - 12:00 am | Added by: Admin to First Team, Club News | One comment |

Pre-Season training starts Thursday 3rd July 2008 7pm-9pm at RAF Halton astro pitch entrance, then every Tuesday and Thursday thereafter.

Old and new players welcome.

The Reserves are also looking to recruit the following voluntary positions:

Assistant manager, club linesman and first aider. Interested parties should contact Reserve Secretary Matt Day on 0775-239-1650.

Pre season games now confirmed are:

Sat 26 July away Wendover FC (Aylesbury and District League)

Sat 2 Aug away HMIYO Aylesbury (Prison Team)

Sat 9 Aug away Bedgrove Dynamos (Aylesbury and District League)

Wed 13 Aug away Wingrave (Aylesbury and District League)

Mon 18 Aug away Hitchin Town Reserves (Capital League)

Thurs 21 Aug away Risborough Rangers (South Midlands League)

The Ducks second XI have been drawn away to Old Woodstock Town in The Hellenic League Chairmans Challenge Reserve Cup. In this competition last season they beat Wokingham and Emmbrook 2-1 and lost to Englefield Green Rovers 4-2 and hope to go one better this time.