The Evo-Stik League South

Aylesbury United News Story

Presentation Evening 2017

Monday 08 May 2017 - 09:57 am | Added by: Admin to First Team, Club News | | Used tags: ,

The club had its end of season presentation evening on Friday 5th May at Rivet’s Sports and Social Club. The annual awards ceremony attended by players and supporters was hosted by 21CD and its Chairman Ron Syratt.

Ron said it had been a pleasure to watch the Ducks this season and see the club finish in a mid-table position and had particularly appreciated the approachability of the club staff, most notably Glyn Creaser. He announced that 21CD will be hosting a summer BBQ on 9th July and further details about this will be announced shortly.

Erika Robinson then was asked to present the Supporter’s Player of the Season. Before announcing the winner, she gave a fan’s view of the season with highlights including doing the double over Aylesbury FC, the comeback versus Banbury United, getting to the Semi-Final of the League Cup and some superb goals most notably from Lea Coulter and Bruno Brito.

Erika finished by announcing the Supporter’s Player of the Year as Jake Bewley

Supporter's Player of the Year Jake Bewley

Graham Read and Ken Turnbull were invited to give an overview of the season from the Board.

Graham was saddened to hear of the passing of Danny Martone and said he would be sorely missed. Although they did not always see eye to eye, he had huge respect for the amount of work he put into getting Aylesbury FC to where they are today. There was a toast to Danny and to other absent friends.

Congratulations were provided to both the under 18’s who are going for the treble and to the under 21’s who were crowned champions of the South Bucks Youth League.

The first team (and management team) were congratulated on their performances this season and in particular for being the most disciplined team in the whole of the Southern League, culminating in winning the Southern League Fair Play and Respect Awards. Out of all step 1-4 clubs nationally the club had finished 7th in the fair play league which was a great commendation.

Without the hard work of all volunteers and those who help around the club, there would be no club, so everyone was thanked for their efforts this season. Special thanks were provided to someone who has taken more shots on goal than anyone this season…………and the Clubman of the Year Trophy was presented to Mike Snell, for his fabulous photography come rain or shine.

Clubman of the Year Mike Snell

Glyn Creaser was then invited to the floor to give his thoughts on the season. He started by thanking everyone associated with the club for all their contributions.

Glyn presented the Under 21’s with them with their league trophy and congratulated them on their success, and said that the management team would be watching the under 18 cup final. He went onto thank Alex Chilcott, who although has not many opportunities to get on the pitch for the first team, he has done exactly as asked of him all season in a very professional manner. He really did deserve the huge cheer/round of applause he got when he made his first team debut.

Under 21s


He then announced that the Players' Player of the Year was Jake Bewley. Glyn said he was not surprised that he had won this award,following on from being the Most Improved Player last season, as he has really delivered so much quality defensively and going forward with some superb approach play and crosses.

Players' Player of the Year Jake Bewley

Glyn was then delighted to present “The Gary Hawksworth Memorial Trophy For The Most Improved Player” to Jordon Frederick. Gary was a firm believer in developing players though advice and encouragement and would have found Jordon’s game and attitude development this season fantastic, which Glyn appreciated. 

The Gary Hawksworth Memorial Trophy For The Most Improved Player Jordon Frederick

The Manager’s Player of the Year award was then presented to Sonny French. Glyn said he had never come across a player with so much strength in ability to run at players and his performances and goals had been one of the main catalysts in such an improvement this season.

Manager's Player of the Year Sonny French

Glyn then thanked his management team of Ben Williams and Michael Hogg for their support all season. Glyn finished by saying that the aim for next season is to finish higher in the league this season.

Ken Turnbull came forward to present Jake Bewley with a trophy to mark his 100 appearances for the club.

Jake Bewley recognised for 100 club appearances

To end the presentations both Jack Wood and Greg Williams were asked to present their light hearted “Real Awards” to members of the squad and support team, paid for from fines gathered by the players during the season. Ron, Glyn, Ben, Mick and Warren were all rewarded for the support they have provided throughout the season. 

Ron Schmidt
Glyn Creaser
Mike Hogg
Ben Williams
Warren Sheward

Ryan Kinnane was presented with the “Throwing His Toys Out Of His Pram” award - some Kinder Eggs.

Ryan Kinnane

Alex Chilcott was given a towel and shower gel as he always forgets to bring both to use after games.

Alex Chilcott

The “Sicknote” award by way of some frozen plasters was presented to Ollie Hogg.

Ollie Hogg

A pocket mirror was given to the winner of the “It’s All About Me” award Reece Cameron.

Reece Cameron

Finally, the “Wipe Your Brow Son You Put In A Shift” award was handed to Troy Witter.

Troy Witter

There was a raffle and an auction. Proceeds from the raffle and the auction of a bottle of Aylesbury Duck Vodka from Canada (donated by Erika Robinson) were given to 21CD. Proceeds from the auction of a football signed by members of the 1992 Ducks squad were provided to Kidney Research UK in memory of long-time supporter Mark Edmonds, who passed away during the season.

A fantastic evening was had by all in attendance. Thank you to both Rivet’s for hosting the evening and to HiTide for providing the food.

These, and more, photographs taken at the event can also be viewed and downloaded from the Aylesbury United flickr website: